If you want to try and become a bit more active, regardless of your disability or medical condition, triathlon can be the sport for you.  It’s a fun mix of swimming, biking and running with the ability to adapt it to a format that suits you.

You can use a wheelchair or race-chair for the running section.  For cycling you use a hand-bike or other adapted bike or can do an aquathlon (skip the cycling and just do running and swimming).  If you are not sure about swimming you can do a duathlon (running and cycling) or use flotation aids to feel more confident.


GO TRI is a fun way to access triathlon for the first time. Join in training sessions or complete your first triathlon (or duathlon or aquathlon). The training sessions are open to all and at the events distances start from an achievable 100m swim (4 lengths of the pool), 2.5km bike and 1km run.  Also through the #YourGOTRI programme you can create your own triathlon and do it in your own time – no need to do all the disciplines in one day!  

Approximately 16% of GO TRI participants have a disability or long-term medical condition, so don’t let it hold you back!

British Triathlon also run a number of specific Disability Novice Training Days each year.  If you would prefer this option keep a look out on our website for the next instalment of these!  

Most triathlon clubs are very accommodating and inclusive and will offer help to anyone who comes along. If you want to know more about a club before going along for the first time then it is often a good idea to get in contact before you go so that you can be assured about what to expect when you do go.

Everyone and anyone can compete in triathlon regardless of their level of ability or impairment. However, if you wish to compete specifically in 'Paratriathlon' events or have ambitions of being a Paralympian then you will need to be classified so that it can be decided which category you would fit into.


There are currently six classifications in Paratriathlon:

  • PTHC: Wheelchair users. There are two sub-classes, H1 (most impaired) and H2 (least impaired);
  • PTS2: Severe impairments;
  • PTS3: Significant impairments;
  • PTS4: Moderate impairments;
  • PTS5: Mild Impairments;
  • PTVI: Total or Partial visual Impairment (IBSA/IPC defined sub-classes B1, B2, and B3) with one guide.

Further information:

Have a look at the British Triathlon or GoTri websites.

z-Fundraising Regulator Logo